PracticeSeptember 6, 202614 min readRafał Zeidler

At which petrol station will you not receive a KSeF invoice?

Find out when your fuel invoice goes to KSeF and when you need to keep the document received at the station.

At which petrol station will you not receive a KSeF invoice?
This image was generated using artificial intelligence.

Summary

At an AMIC petrol station, you may receive a fuel invoice that will not appear in Poland's National e-Invoice System, KSeF. AMIC Polska states that invoices issued using a fiscal cash register remain outside the system during a transitional period, ending no later than December 31, 2026. This concerns that method of issuing invoices, not all of the operator's invoices.

AMIC also confirms KSeF invoicing for channels including OPT self-service payment terminals, fleet cards and invoice corrections. ORLEN S.A. states that its petrol station invoices for Polish businesses are in KSeF from April 1, and BP from September 1, 2026. The station's brand alone does not tell you where your invoice will be available.

The paper you receive after refuelling could be a full invoice issued outside KSeF, a receipt with a NIP, a transaction confirmation or a readable copy of an invoice held in the system. NIP is the Polish tax identification number. First check the document type, the seller's NIP and how the purchase was settled.

The comparison reflects operators' publications as of September 5, 2026. For some chains, including Circle K, AVIA and Pieprzyk, no clear public statement established their policy. That does not mean their invoices are not sent to KSeF.

Look for your fuel invoice in the right place

You refuel a company car, provide its business NIP and return to work with a printout. When you reconcile expenses, the invoice is missing from KSeF. Before reporting it as missing, establish what the station actually issued. In September 2026, fuel purchases are not all documented in the same way. The comparison below sets out operators' statements and explains how to distinguish an invoice that remains outside KSeF from one that should appear in the system.

Table of contents

At which station may an invoice remain outside KSeF?

Which stations confirm KSeF invoicing?

What is known about the other chains?

Why can a station issue an invoice outside KSeF in 2026?

Does a paper printout mean the invoice is outside KSeF?

What should you check when a fuel invoice is missing from KSeF?

Does an invoice missing from KSeF prevent you from claiming fuel expenses?

How should you collect fuel invoices after the changes?

Frequently asked questions

Key takeaways

Whether an invoice appears in KSeF depends on the particular document and its issuer's procedure. Five distinctions help you avoid looking in the wrong place.

PointDetails
AMIC distinguishes between channelsCash-register invoices remain outside KSeF during the stated transitional period. OPT terminals, fleet purchases and corrections follow a different procedure.
Procedures change during the yearORLEN S.A. gives April 1 and BP September 1, 2026, for the till sales described in their announcements.
An unconfirmed policy needs checking with the issuerThe absence of a clear public statement does not prove that a chain's invoices remain outside KSeF.
PLN 450 concerns simplified invoicesIn 2026, a full invoice issued using a fiscal cash register may remain outside KSeF even for a higher amount.
A printout does not determine the invoice's statusCheck the document type, issuer's NIP, purchase channel and date. Keep the documents needed to clarify the transaction.

At which station may an invoice remain outside KSeF?

AMIC Polska provides a clear example. Its KSeF announcement states that invoices will continue to be issued using fiscal cash registers and will not be sent to KSeF. The operator describes the transitional period as ending no later than December 31, 2026.

If this is the type of invoice you receive, its absence from KSeF follows the stated procedure. Keep the document for accounting purposes. Do not assume, however, that every invoice carrying the AMIC brand will be handled in the same way.

A separate case is an invoice issued later against a receipt with a NIP for more than PLN 450. AMIC describes submitting that invoice to KSeF and emailing a readable copy with its KSeF number. This should not be confused with issuing a full invoice directly from a fiscal cash register.

The announcement comes from AMIC Polska. At a franchise station, check the seller's name and NIP on the document, because an independent operator may have its own procedure. The same distinction matters when comparing other chains.

AMIC document or purchaseStated procedureWhat to keep or where to look
Full invoice issued using a fiscal cash registerOutside KSeF during the transitional period, ending no later than December 31, 2026Keep the invoice received at the station.
Receipt with a NIP up to PLN 450A simplified invoice. AMIC does not issue a further VAT invoice for itKeep the receipt that serves as the invoice.
Invoice issued against a receipt with a NIP over PLN 450In KSeF, with a readable copy sent by emailCheck KSeF and the email address given to the operator.
OPT terminal purchase with a NIPInvoice in KSeFKeep the transaction confirmation with its QR code.
Fleet-card settlementInvoice in KSeFCheck the invoice covering the transactions and the copy provided by the operator.
Correction invoiceCorrections in KSeFMatch the correction to the document it concerns.

Which stations confirm KSeF invoicing?

The table covers eight chains or operators whose own publications establish at least one invoicing procedure. It reflects information as of September 5, 2026. A positive entry refers to the scope of the announcement, not independent verification of every station under the brand.

WATIS: the announcement about till and self-service terminal invoices from July 1 concerns the Rybnik station specifically. It does not establish the procedure at every other location in the chain.

MOYA and MOL materials confirm KSeF for the fleet-card programmes they describe. The terms for MOYA firma cash fleet cards still concern a card programme. The word 'cash' does not extend those terms to every ordinary cash purchase at the till.

The ORLEN and BP dates are the dates stated by the operators for particular processes. They do not create additional statutory KSeF deadlines. Chains without an equally clear statement need a separate, unconfirmed status.

Chain or operatorOrdinary business purchase at the tillOther channelsDate and operator source
AMIC PolskaCash-register invoices outside KSeF during the stated transitional periodKSeF for channels including OPT, fleet cards, invoices against receipts with a NIP over PLN 450, and correctionsCash-register exception ending no later than December 31, 2026. AMIC
ORLEN S.A.Yes, for the stated sales to Polish businessesKSeF also confirmed for fleet salesRetail from April 1, 2026; announcement updated March 30, 2026. ORLEN
BPYes, according to BP's statement about business invoices issued at tillsROUTEX rules were not established separatelyFrom September 1, 2026. BP announcement
ShellShell support confirms automatic submission of issued VAT invoices to KSeFThe separate Shell Card process was not establishedNo start date stated in the source. Shell support
WATKEMThe operator states that all invoices it issues are in KSeFThe announcement does not distinguish sales channelsFrom February 1, 2026, available the next working day. WATKEM post of February 2, 2026
WATISYes, confirmed for the Rybnik stationThe Rybnik self-service terminal and, separately, fleet invoicingRybnik from July 1, 2026; fleet from February 1, 2026. Rybnik, fleet portal
MOYA / AnwimRules for ordinary till purchases not establishedInvoices to a Polish NIP in KSeF within the MOYA firma card programme covered by the termsNo operational start date stated. Terms, page 5, chapter XX, paragraph 6
MOLRules for ordinary till purchases not establishedMOL Group Cards describes the original invoice in KSeF and a readable copy in the portal or by emailNo start date stated. MOL Group Cards

What is known about the other chains?

For the following brands, public information as of September 5, 2026, does not clearly establish the KSeF procedure for fuel invoices. This is not a list of stations refusing to issue invoices in the system. For a particular transaction, the document's issuer should provide the answer.

An electronic invoice in a portal: the availability of an electronic file alone does not establish whether the original is also in KSeF.

Educational material about KSeF: an explanation of the rules on a company's website is not a statement about how it issues its own fuel invoices.

A shared brand: the sign at a partner station does not determine which company or business sells the fuel and issues the invoice.

The full list of 74 chains and operators, in Polish also includes smaller networks and the information limits for each entry. The stated procedures come from public declarations by the specified issuers and concern the sales channels described.

Poland's Energy Regulatory Office fuel infrastructure register, maintained by URE, helps identify operators and addresses but does not record KSeF status. In the September 5 export, 748 operators had at least two non-empty infrastructure addresses. This does not mean 748 verified invoicing policies or exclusively publicly accessible petrol stations. One physical site may appear under different operators.

Chain or groupWhat remains unconfirmedWhat to check before accounting for the purchase
Circle KKSeF procedures for ordinary purchases and fleet salesAn electronic-invoice or card-portal description does not establish KSeF status. Circle K
AVIA / UNIMOTProcedures for tills, self-service terminals and AVIA CardIdentify the issuer, particularly at a partner station. AVIA
HUZARThe particular independent seller's policyRead the operator's name and NIP on the document. HUZAR stations
PieprzykThe current procedure for submitting fuel invoices to KSeFCheck the invoice issuer and payment arrangement. Pieprzyk
Dyskont PaliwowyKSeF procedures for the fuel sales and fleet offer describedAsk the issuer about the procedure for your transaction. Dyskont Paliwowy
AS24, Q8Truck, E100 POWER MAX, EurowagKSeF status of particular fuel invoicesIdentify the issuer in the card programme. The card acceptance map alone does not establish invoicing rules.
Supermarket petrol stationsThe petrol station operator's KSeF policyThe shop's rules may not cover fuel. For Auchan petrol stations, the relevant operator is HYPEROIL.

Why can a station issue an invoice outside KSeF in 2026?

In its answers about issuing invoices, Poland's Ministry of Finance explains that full invoices issued using fiscal cash registers may remain outside KSeF until the end of 2026, regardless of their amount. A separate rule concerns receipts with a NIP that qualify as simplified invoices.

Full cash-register invoice: the transitional exception has no PLN 450 limit. An invoice for PLN 600, for example, may remain outside KSeF if it was issued using a fiscal cash register under that exception.

Receipt with a NIP: the PLN 450 or EUR 100 limit concerns whether a receipt qualifies as a simplified invoice, subject to the other conditions. Such a document may remain outside KSeF until December 31, 2026.

The statement that every fuel invoice above PLN 450 must be in KSeF is therefore incorrect. Distinguish the amount on a receipt serving as a simplified invoice from the amount on a full cash-register invoice.

Mandatory KSeF has its own statutory timetable and scope described by the Ministry. BP's September procedural change is not a new legal deadline. Similarly, permission to use an exception until the end of the year does not require every chain to use it throughout that period.

Situation in 2026How the amount mattersCan it remain outside KSeF?
Full invoice issued using a fiscal cash registerPLN 450 is not a limit for this exceptionYes, under the transitional rules until December 31, 2026.
Receipt with a NIP meeting simplified-invoice conditionsUp to PLN 450 or EUR 100Yes, until December 31, 2026.
Receipt with a NIP above the simplified-invoice thresholdAbove the threshold, the receipt itself is not a simplified invoiceObtain and check the appropriate invoice. The receipt alone does not determine how the invoice is handled.
Full invoice issued in a system other than a fiscal cash registerThe amount alone does not determine KSeF statusThe cash-register exception cannot apply merely because the purchase was fuel.

Does a paper printout mean the invoice is outside KSeF?

No. The paper may simply confirm the transaction or provide a readable representation of an invoice stored in KSeF. ORLEN describes a printed confirmation containing transaction details and a QR code. Since September, BP issues a transaction confirmation for the VAT invoice at the till and sends the actual invoice to the system.

Document heading: check whether you have an invoice, receipt, transaction confirmation or readable invoice copy.

Numbers and markings: the seller's own invoice number is not the KSeF number. A QR code alone also does not tell you what type of document you have.

Retrieval instructions: the printout or operator's announcement may explain how to access an invoice that becomes available once processing is complete.

The distinction explained in the article about the KSeF number on an invoice is useful here. A PDF and a printout are ways of presenting data. Neither, by itself, establishes whether the seller issued a structured invoice in KSeF.

According to the BP FAQ, invoices sent to KSeF are no longer available in BPme. If you previously collected invoices in the app, their absence after the procedural change does not prove that no invoice exists. The next step is to find the actual invoice in KSeF.

What you receiveWhat it may meanWhat to do
Full cash-register invoice issued outside KSeFThe invoice circulates outside the system under the cash-register exceptionKeep it and pass it on for accounting.
Receipt with a NIP up to PLN 450 or EUR 100It is a simplified invoice if the conditions are metKeep it as the purchase document.
Transaction confirmation relating to an invoiceIt confirms the purchase and may help you access the actual invoiceFind the invoice using the operator's procedure.
Readable invoice copy bearing a KSeF numberA readable representation linked to the invoice in the systemMatch the details. Do not account for the copy and KSeF invoice as two separate purchases.
Ordinary receipt without a NIPIt does not confirm that an invoice was issued to the company's NIPClarify with the issuer how the purchase was recorded and which document was issued.

What should you check when a fuel invoice is missing from KSeF?

Start with the document and the transaction. An empty search result alone does not establish whether the invoice remains outside the system, is awaiting processing or needs clarification with the seller.

1. Identify the issuer. Read the seller's name and NIP. With a fleet card, check who issues the invoice covering the fuel purchases: it may be a different entity from the station operator.

2. Identify the document. Distinguish a full invoice from a receipt with a NIP, transaction confirmation and readable invoice copy. Keep the document number, date, amount and station address.

3. Check the purchase channel and date. Tills, self-service terminals and fleet settlement may follow different procedures. Allow for BP's change from September 1 and the local scope of WATIS's Rybnik announcement.

4. Search under the correct company. Check the buyer's NIP, access to purchase invoices and the date range. If you use software connected to KSeF, make sure it has retrieved new documents. The guide to receiving invoices through KSeF explains the basics.

5. Compare the result with the issuer's procedure. If the operator says it uses KSeF and the document is still unavailable, give the station or customer service team your transaction details and ask them to clarify the invoice status.

There is no single waiting time shared by all chains. BP's FAQ says invoices usually appear within a few to a dozen or so minutes and recommends contacting the operator if an invoice is still missing the next day. WATKEM states that invoices become available the next working day. These describe those operators' service arrangements, not a universal statutory deadline.

For example, a business owner receives a full PLN 600 invoice from an AMIC fiscal cash register, issued outside KSeF in line with the operator's announcement. They should keep that invoice. At a subsequent BP fuel purchase after September 1, they receive a transaction confirmation and should find the actual invoice in KSeF. A similar amount and two paper printouts require two different actions.

If the invoice is due to enter the system, distinguish confirmation of the sale from confirmation that KSeF has accepted the invoice. The guide to invoice statuses in KSeF explains this difference. Once you know where the document is, you can assess its accounting treatment.

What you findNext action
You have a full cash-register invoice issued outside KSeFKeep the document. Its absence from KSeF may follow a correctly applied exception.
You have a confirmation and the operator states that it uses KSeFLook for the invoice and follow the operator's guidance for missing documents.
Fuel purchases are settled through a fleet cardCheck the issuer, settlement period and invoice covering the card transactions.
The issuer's NIP differs from the entity named in the chain's announcementEstablish the procedure directly with the actual seller.
The amount, date or buyer's NIP does not matchClarify the discrepancy with the seller before passing the document on for bookkeeping.

Does an invoice missing from KSeF prevent you from claiming fuel expenses?

An invoice's absence from KSeF does not automatically remove the right to deduct input VAT. In its answers for purchasers, Poland's Ministry of Finance states that buyers are not required to establish who should issue an invoice in KSeF and who may use another form, and that this check is not a condition for VAT deduction.

That answer does not waive the other conditions for a claim. You still need the proper document, a genuine purchase and grounds for deduction. Vehicle expenses have their own restrictions, depending in part on how the vehicle is used. An invoice's presence in KSeF does not itself entitle you to deduct all the VAT or treat the entire amount as a tax-deductible expense.

In everyday accounting, separate two questions: where to obtain the invoice and how to account for the expenditure. The seller's procedure and the document's status answer the first. The tax rules applicable to the company and vehicle determine the second.

How should you collect fuel invoices after the changes?

In 2026, your document process should cover both invoices retrieved from KSeF and invoices correctly issued outside it. Agree with everyone who refuels company vehicles that transaction confirmations should be kept until matched to invoices, and that full invoices issued outside KSeF must reach accounting.

In the KSeFGPT Invoices module, you can receive invoices from KSeF, review them and download a readable copy. When looking for a fuel expense, start with the seller and transaction details. Send documents issued outside KSeF through your company's agreed process so they are not missed at month-end.

Converting a received PDF invoice to XML does not place the seller's invoice in KSeF. Do not issue or submit your own copy of the seller's invoice to fill a missing expense. If the document should be in KSeF, clarify its status with the issuer.

Receive purchase invoices from KSeF

Connect your company to KSeF in KSeFGPT, check incoming invoices and download readable copies for further processing.

Open KSeFGPT

Frequently asked questions

Does ORLEN send fuel invoices to KSeF?

Yes. ORLEN S.A. states that, since April 1, 2026, it documents petrol station sales to Polish businesses with invoices in KSeF. Customers receive a transaction confirmation at the till. The operator also confirms KSeF invoicing for fleet sales. The announcement concerns ORLEN S.A.; at a station operated by a separate franchisee, check which entity issues the invoice.

Are BP invoices sent to KSeF available in the BPme app?

No. BP states that, since September 1, 2026, invoices issued to business customers at petrol station tills are sent to KSeF. Customers receive a transaction confirmation for the VAT invoice at the till. Invoices sent to KSeF are no longer available in BPme. September 1 is the date of BP's procedural change, not a new statutory KSeF deadline.

Must a receipt with a NIP up to PLN 450 be in KSeF in 2026?

No. Until December 31, 2026, a receipt showing the buyer's Polish tax identification number, NIP, for up to PLN 450 or EUR 100 may remain outside KSeF if it meets the conditions for a simplified invoice. Separately, full invoices issued using fiscal cash registers may remain outside KSeF without an amount limit under the transitional rules. Exceeding PLN 450 does not automatically mean that a full cash-register invoice must be sent to KSeF.

Do fleet cards follow the same KSeF rules as purchases at the till?

Not always. Invoices for transactions settled through a fleet card may be issued by a different entity and at a different time from an invoice for a single fuel purchase. AMIC describes cash-register invoices outside KSeF and fleet invoices in KSeF. MOYA firma and MOL Group Cards materials confirm KSeF for the card programmes they describe, but do not establish the rules for every ordinary purchase at the till. The issuer and the terms of the particular programme matter.

Recommended reading

How to receive an invoice from KSeF Find incoming invoices and organise regular retrieval.

Invoice status in KSeF Understand the difference between submitting an invoice and its acceptance by the system.

The KSeF number on an invoice Learn how the system identifier differs from the seller's invoice number.

Missing UPO in KSeF Understand the official acknowledgement of receipt, UPO, and how to clarify the status of a submitted invoice.

Sources

Operator procedures reflect publications available on September 5, 2026, for the specified issuers and sales channels. The legal explanations rely on Poland's Ministry of Finance materials. The URE register identifies operators and infrastructure; it does not confirm invoicing procedures. The linked source materials are in Polish.

  1. AMIC Polska on KSeF

    AMIC Polska · accessed: September 5, 2026

    Separate procedures for cash-register invoices, OPT terminals, invoices against receipts, fleet settlement and corrections. The transitional period ends no later than December 31, 2026.

  2. ORLEN S.A. rules for issuing and receiving KSeF invoices

    ORLEN S.A. · accessed: September 5, 2026

    Announcement updated March 30, 2026. Petrol station sales to Polish businesses in KSeF from April 1, with a separate description of fleet sales.

  3. BP contact page and announcement about business invoices

    BP · accessed: September 5, 2026

    Statement on sending business invoices issued at petrol station tills to KSeF from September 1, 2026.

  4. Frequently asked questions about KSeF at BP stations

    BP · accessed: September 5, 2026

    Transaction confirmation, retrieval from KSeF, changes to invoice availability in BPme and guidance on missing invoices.

  5. Shell support centre, payments

    Shell · accessed: September 5, 2026

    The answer about VAT and consumer invoices confirms automatic submission of issued VAT invoices to KSeF. It does not state a start date.

  6. WATKEM customer announcement of February 2, 2026

    WATKEM · accessed: September 5, 2026

    The operator's announcement about invoices in KSeF from February 1, 2026, available the next working day.

  7. Information for customers of the WATIS station in Rybnik

    WATIS · accessed: September 5, 2026

    Announcement of July 9, 2026, concerning till and self-service terminal invoices in Rybnik from July 1, 2026.

  8. WATIS fleet portal

    WATIS · accessed: September 5, 2026

    Information on structured invoices from February 1, 2026, and fleet-invoice attachments available in the portal.

  9. Terms of use for MOYA firma cash fleet cards

    Anwim / MOYA · accessed: September 5, 2026

    Page 5, chapter XX, paragraph 6. KSeF invoicing to a Polish NIP within the card programme covered by the terms. The document does not state an operational start date.

  10. Administration and invoice copies in MOL Group Cards

    MOL Group Cards · accessed: September 5, 2026

    Description of readable copies available after the original invoice has been sent to KSeF. The scope concerns fuel-card services.

  11. KSeF 2.0 questions and answers

    Polish Ministry of Finance · accessed: September 5, 2026

    In the invoice-issuing section: question 47 on VAT deduction and question 68 on full cash-register invoices without an amount limit. Numbering as of September 5, 2026.

  12. Scope of mandatory KSeF

    Polish Ministry of Finance · accessed: September 5, 2026

    The statutory timetable and temporary rules for cash-register invoices and receipts with a NIP up to PLN 450 or EUR 100. Transitional provisions are separate from operators' procedural change dates.

  13. Register of importing entities and liquid fuel infrastructure

    Polish Energy Regulatory Office (URE) · accessed: September 5, 2026

    Operator, NIP and infrastructure address data. The figure of 748 operators with at least two non-empty addresses comes from a calculation using the September 5 export, not a count of verified KSeF policies.

Related articles

Analysis

KSeF penalty deferral through 2027? What the Ministry plans

Poland plans to defer KSeF error penalties through 2027. We explain the proposal's legal status, current deadlines and impact on businesses.

Read article
Automation

PDF to KSeF XML converters with accounting integrations

Compare KSeFGPT, A-Cube and PDFdoKSEF connections and the formats used by Optima, Symfonia and InsERT. Choose a route your accountant can use.

Read article
Automation

KSeF software: monthly subscription or a one-time licence?

Understand the upfront price, renewals and the cost of keeping your invoicing software running for three years.

Read article
Automation

Which KSeF software offers good value for a small business?

Compare 12-month costs, upfront payments, PDF limits and CRM value. See when a free tool is enough and which features justify paying more.

Read article